Kiangan, Ifugao… Town of Living Traditions

Municipality of Kiangan

Ifugao Comelec bares list of candidates for 2013 elections

By Vivencia D. Bulayungan

Wednesday 10th of October 2012

LAGAWE, Ifugao, Oct. 10 (PIA) — Thirty-two candidates filed their certificates Of candidacy (COCs) last October 1-5 for the different elective positions at the provincial level.

Official list obtained from the Office of the Provincial Election Officer shows that two filed their candidacies for congressman for the lone district of Ifugao, Teodoro Baguilat Jr. (LP) and Solomon Chungalao (Ind).

There are four gubernatorial candidates, namely, incumbent governor Eugene M. Balitang (LP), Jonathan Cuyahon (NPC), Denis Habawel (Ind), and Robert Humiwat (Ind).

For vice governor, there are three, namely: Clemente T. Bontiwon (Ind), Georgina D. Lumauig, and incumbent Pedro G. Mayam-o (LP).

Twelve candidates are vying for seats at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan. In District 1, they are : Geronimo Bimohya (Ind), Victor Bunnol Jr (Ind), Nora Dinamling (Ind), Rolando Dulawan (Ind), Gabriel Dulinayan (LP), Rodolfo Dulnuan (Ind), Jose Gullitiw (Ind), Virgilio Inhumang (LP), Lycomedes Kalahi (LP), Robert Mangyao (LP), Laurence Nanglegan (Ind), and Ramon Tinawi (Ind).

District 1 covers the municipalities of Lagawe, Hingyon, Hungduan, Tinoc, Asipulo, Kiangan, and Lamut.

On the other hand, 11 candidates filed their COCs for SP in District 2, namely, Samson Atluna (Ind), Robert Binalet (Ind), Allan Cutiyog(Ind), Frederick Dulnuan, George Gumman Jr. (LP), Roger Herman (LP), Federico Juguiad Jr (Ind), Lino Latugan, Noli Maguiwe (LP), Renato Patacsil (LP), and Fe Pumihic.

District 2 covers the municipalities of Banaue, Mayoyao, Aguinaldo, and Alfonso Lista.

Meanwhile, among the municipal candidates who have filed their COC, there are four towns who have vice mayoralty candidates unopposed namely Lagawe, Lamut, Kiangan and Aguinaldo.

In Aguinaldo town, three candidates filed their COCs for the position municipal mayor – Tony Chilagan (NPC), Aldrin Guingayan (IND), and Clemente Talusig (LP).

Gaspar Chilagan Jr who ran for Vice Mayor is unopposed. There were 21 candidates for councilor in said town.

In Alfonso Lista, two filed for mayor, namely, Edralin Alipio (NPC) and Glenn Prudenciano (LP), while two filed also for vice mayor- Joseph Angowan (LP) and William Taganas (NPC), while 17 filed their COCs for councilor.

For Asipulo town, three are vying for mayor, namely, Eladio Bang-ud (LDP), Armando Domilod (IND), Denis Gumangan (LP) while two filed for vice mayor – Tomas Pullupul and Guillermo Tadao (LDP) and 20 filed for councilor.

In Banaue town, three are running for mayor, namely, Jerry Dalipog (PMP), Fermin Haclao (LP) and Kenneth Labador (Ind); five filed for vice mayor- Fernando Bahatan, Joel Bungallon (Ind), Jun Dumar (Ind), Agustin Dupingay (Ind), and William Mamanglo (Ind); while 39 filed their COCs for councilor.

In Hingyon, four filed for mayor – Marcos Bantiyan, Mario Buyuccan, Hazel Gayamo, and Gerlado Luglug; while three for vice mayor- Dionisio Baguidudol, Isabel Bittag, and Alberto Habiling; 37 filed for councilor.

For Hungduan, two filed for mayor – Hilario Bumangabang and Henry Gano; while five for vice mayor, namely, Juliet Ananayo, Julio Bahatan, Richard Buyayo, John Hangdaan, and Jose Pocdihon; 32 filed for councilor.

In Kiangan, two filed for mayor, namely, Angelito Dulinayan and Joselito Guyguyon; while Roel Dulnuan who ran for vice mayor is unopposed; 23 filed for councilor.

In Lagawe, there are two mayoralty candidates-Ceasario Cabbigat and Joaquin Dugyon Jr.; Martin Habawel Jr, who ran for vice mayor is unopposed; there are 21 candidates for councilor.

In Lamut town, two are running for mayor – Mariano Buyagawan Jr. and Francisco Tenenan Sr.; Victomar Bunnol is unopposed for vice mayor.

In Mayoyao, two are running for mayor – Ronie Lumayna and Ruben Panitio; while for vice mayor, contending paties are Letty Lim-ang and Jimmy Padchanan; 22 are running for councilor.

For Tinoc, two are aspiring for mayor – Marcelo Catalino and Lopez Pugong Sr.; three for vice mayor – Agustin Calyaen, Fernando Gapuz, and Mabini Nehyeban; and 17 filed for councilor.

Provincial Election Supervisor Ricardo Bulintao hopes that this coming polls will be peaceful and orderly as in the past elections. (VDB PIA-CAR, Ifugao)

  • Thoughts for Simply Living

    Jeremiah 29:11
    "For I know the plans I have for you," says the Lord. "They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope."

  • Recent Post

  • Recent Activity

  • Likes